Sign Up To Our Mailing List And Receive $25 Off* Your First Purchase.

Back

New Books To Read This Autumn

New Books To Read This Autumn
Scroll

With long weekends and cooler weather upon us, now is the perfect time to stock up on a few good books. Here are the new releases currently on our reading list.

To Paradise by Hanya Yanagihara

Best known for her unforgettably visceral and utterly heartbreaking novel A Little Life, Hanya Yanagihara is back on every must-read list with To Paradise, a three-part book spanning three centuries. Themes of race, sexuality, disease and class emerge throughout, and while each section could stand alone in its own right, together they paint a more complex picture, like a triptych artwork. To Paradise opens with an alternate version of American history, a love story of sorts set in New York, 1893. In her third story, Hanya contemplates a dystopian future set in 2093, a New York under totalitarian rule plagued by pandemics. Guided by Hanya’s perfect timing and intimate detail, this is the sort of book you immerse yourself in and devour, chapter after chapter.

Cleopatra and Frankenstein by Coco Mellors

This book would make a great TV series. Deeply flawed characters connect through fast-paced conversation and revealing confessions. Manhattan, where the story takes place, is celebrated in all its impulsive, gritty and debauched glory - in fact we’re introduced to the two main characters, Cleo and Frank, in an elevator where they meet after leaving a New Years Eve party. Cleo is young, beautiful and creative, Frank is an older advertising executive, and when they dive head-first into a marriage, it sends shockwaves through their social circles. A contemporary novel that mines through the chaos of love and friendship will inevitably be compared to Sally Rooney, but this debut book is a great weekend read in its own right.

The Maid by Nita Prose

Searching for a little escapism? This satisfying debut crime novel is the perfect remedy. The premise is simple - Molly Gray, a member of the cleaning staff at the Regency Grand Hotel, takes great pleasure and pride in her work, that is until she discovers the hotel’s most esteemed guest murdered in his room. Molly is a conscientious employee but she lacks social skills, and she soon becomes embroiled in the case as a prime suspect. What makes The Maid special is the character of Molly herself - charming, intriguing and totally original, she is the sort of optimistic protagonist we need in these uncertain times. 

Love and Other Puzzles by Kimberley Allsopp

If rom-coms are your literary nightcap of choice, look no further than Kimberley Allsopp’s charming novel. The story follows Rory, a journalist who feels unfulfilled in her career and her relationship, and whose life is dictated by routine. In a moment of uncharacteristic desperation, Rory steps outside of her comfort zone and let the clues to her crossword puzzles guide her decision-making for a week. Fans of Marian Keyes and Dolly Alderton should take note of this new young author who writes with equal parts wit and warmth.